Gladiator Challenge

New Champion Crowned At "High Octane" - Guzman Retains Title


March 19, 2011

Shingle Springs Rancheria

Placerville, California



At "High Octane" this past weekend, Owen Rubin took the GC North American Light Heavyweight

Championship from Mike "Lil' Bear" Gonzalez, while GC Bantamweight Champion Greg Guzman retained

his belt. Here are the full results:


*Special thanks to 5150 for the use of their video


Bout 1

Kyle Walker vs. Sammy Saunders ended in a no-contest at 0:14 of the 1st round due to an accidental injury


Bout 2

J.T. Mullins defeated Andrew Collingwood via unanimous decision


Bout 3

Christian Rios defeated Curtis Cadini via submission (guillotine) at 0:34 of the 1st round


Bout 4

Jay Bogan defeated Rocky Delmonte via submission (guillotine) at 0:21 of the 1st round


Bout 5

Freddie Aquitania defeated Ben Poole via KO (punches) at 0:55 of the 1st round


Bout 6

Aaron Dufour defeated Nate Pillsbury via unanimous decision


Bout 7

Anthony Charnell defeated Omba Kip uke via submission (kimura) at 0:54 of the 1st round


Bout 8

Patrick Cox defeated Eddie Mangas via submission (guillotine) at 1:55 of the 1st round


Bout 9

Matt Bingaman defeated J.P. Abbott via split-decision


Bout 10

Francisco DiMartino defeated Sam Milo via submission (guillotine) at 2:00 of the 1st round


Bout 11

Ryan Burton defeated Jerry Brown via submission (strikes) at 1:31 of the 1st round


Bout 12

Joseph Vidales defeated Jason Haigwood via TKO (ref stoppage) at 2:50 of the 2nd round


Bout 13

Carlos Canez defeated Dan Reyes via split-decision


Bout 14

Mike Quaintance defeated Jason Dykes via submission (guillotine) at 0:30 of the 1st round


Bout 15

Drew Montgomery defeated C.J. Leveque via submission (armbar) at 0:30 of the 1st round


Bout 16

Nate Espinoza defeated Juan Olivares via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:49 of the 1st round


Bout 17

Justin Baseman defeated Jack Montgomery vi a TKO (strikes) at 0:25 of the 2nd round


Bout 18

Lisa Jeanson defeated September Thornton via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:00 of the 1st round


Bout 19

Jaime Jara defeated Larry Mays via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:01 of the 1st round


Bout 20- GC Light Heavyweight Native American Title:

Owen Rubin defeated Mike Gonzalez via TKO (strikes) at 3:41 of the 2nd round to become new champion


Bout 21 - GC Bantamweight Title:

Greg Guzman defeated Bernard Turner via submission (guillotine) at 0:37 of the 1st round


For more information on Gladiator Challenge and all its events, please visit


For additional information please email


Gladiator Challenge is a world-class mixed martial arts (MMA) promotion established in 1999 by Tedd

Williams. A former UFC fighter, Williams is a former national AAU Sambo Champion (1997), a former

California State Judo Champion (4th Degree Black Belt under “Judo” Gene Lebell) and a former college All-

American wrestler (Cerritos Jr. College, 1988-89). Gladiator Challenge runs 12-18 MMA events per year, and

has featured MMA superstars Urijah “The California Kid” Faber, Quinton “Rampage” Jackson, James Irvin,

Tyson Griffin, Dan “The Beast” Severn, “Sugar” Rashad Evans, Scott “Hands of Stone” Smith, “The

Maine-iac” Tim Sylvia, Joe “Daddy” Stevenson, Mac Danzig, Jerry Bohlander, “Krazy Horse” Charles

Bennett, Chris Leben, Chael Sonnen, Jake Shields, “The Secret Weapon” Pete Spratt, Nate “The Rock”

Quarry, Jason “The Punisher” Lambert, Bobby “The Bad Seed” Hoffman, and Cal Worsham, among many

others. Gladiator Challenge can be found online at




- From Gladiator Challenge